Iowa Tests of Basic Skills – ITBS Test

The Iowa Tests of Basic Skills (ITBS) are standardized tests given to children that are provided as a service to schools by the College of Education of The University of Iowa. The Iowa Skills Tests are given as a kindergarten test, first grade test, second grade test, third grade test and go through eighth grade. Developers EF Linquiest, Maude McBroom, Ernest Horn, Herbert Spitzer, Harry Greene first designed and administered the Iowa tests, originally named the Iowa Every Pupil Test of Basic Skills, in 1930’s as a tool to improve instruction.

Over the years, participation in taking the Iowa Test of Basic Skills has expanded beyond all the school districts in Iowa and many school districts across the United States now use the Iowa Skills test for kindergarten testing, first grade testing and second grade testing.

ITBS are written in levels 5-14, which generally correspond with grade levels kindergarten through eighth grade. Each test level within the Iowa Skills Test consists of a series of tests administered in content sections with each section designed to measure specific skills contained within the Iowa Skills Test.  Sections in the ITSB for kindergarten, first grade, second grade and third grade tests include:

  • Vocabulary test
  • Word Analysis test
  • Reading Comprehension test
  • Listening test
  • Language test
  • Mathematics test

4 Responses to “Iowa Tests of Basic Skills – ITBS Test”

Leana says:

I am a fourth grade teacher and I am preparing my students for the ITBS Test.

Meekha Mathema says:

Fifth grade teacher and I’m preparing my students for the seventh grade math test

Jeffrey says:

I have a son in kindergarten preparing for ITBS test

First Name says:

I have a son in fifth grade preparing for Iowa test.