Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS Test)

What is the ITBS?

The ITBS® (Iowa Test of Basic Skills®) is a standardized achievement test that’s given to students from Kindergarten through 8th grade. And despite the name, it isn’t just given to children living in Iowa — rather, some states and many private schools administer the Iowa Test of Basic Skills® to assess each student’s grade-level performance and is written in levels 5-14. If your child is being tested for admission into a gifted and talented program, the ITBS is typically paired with another IQ measurement test, such as the WISC®-IV or the CogAT®.

Homeschooling families can also use the ITBS® to confirm a child’s learning progress, since the test is sufficient to meet state homeschool requirements. Iowa Test scores are also accepted by the National Honor Society to confirm a student’s eligibility.

Iowa Test levels 5-8 are administered to students from Kindergarten through 2nd grade, while levels 9-14 are given to students from 3rd to 8th grade. Each Iowa Test level consists of a series of subtests that are administered in sections by content.


The ITBS® Subtests for Kindergarten Through 3rd Grade

  1. Vocabulary
  2. Word Analysis
  3. Reading Comprehension
  4. Listening
  5. Language
  6. Mathematics

The ITBS® Subtests for 3rd – 6th Grade

  1. Vocabulary
  2. Reading/Reading Comprehension
  3. Spelling, Capitalization, Punctuation, Usage and Expression
  4. Mathematics Concepts and Estimation, Problem Solving, Data Interpretation, Computation
  5. Social Studies
  6. Science
  7. Sources of Information (Maps, Diagrams, Reference Materials)