What Is the Stanford-Binet® V (SB5)?

What is Stanford-Binet?

The Stanford-Binet® V (Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scales®, Fifth Edition) is a traditional intelligence test designed to assess your child’s IQ, or intelligence quotient. While the test includes both verbal and nonverbal sections, the exam skips around through different questions instead of grouping them together by subtest type in order to best assess each child’s unique cognitive abilities, strengths and weaknesses. While the SB5 is typically administered one-on-one by psychologists around age 4-5 (especially for kids applying to a gifted and talented program or private school), children as young as two may be tested. Composite FSIQ (Full Scale IQ) scores are derived from a composite of all 10 subtest type scores that have been normed against the national average.

The Stanford-Binet IQ Test® measures five cognitive abilities in both nonverbal and verbal formats, or 10 total subtests:

  1. Fluid Reasoning
  2. Knowledge
  3. Quantitative Reasoning
  4. Visual-Spatial Processing
  5. Working Memory

In many instances, the Stanford-Binet will be a child’s very first testing experience and takes anywhere from an hour to 90 minutes. For this reason, we strongly recommend practicing basic test-taking skills with your child ahead of time to avoid making some common mistakes, like: pointing to the correct answer and holding your finger out without moving it around, knowing terms like column, row, in order, sequence, table, above, below, more than, less, fewer, first, last, beneath, etc.

Tell Us Your Experiences

Post a new comment