Woodcock Johnson® Tests of Cognitive Abilities

Woodcock Johnson Overview

Woodcock-Johnson® Tests of Cognitive Abilities are IQ tests devised by Woodcock and Johnson in the late 1970’s. The Woodcock-Johnson Tests were revised most recently in 2001 and this latest version is commonly called the WJ-III test. The Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities can be given to children from the age of 2 through adulthood. The Woodcock Johnson test covers a wide range of cognitive skills.

The Woodcock-Johnson-III and Woodcock-Johnson-IV Tests of Achievement are a 22-section achievement test, which assesses both academic achievement (what children have learned in school) and cognitive development. It is sometimes paired with an intelligence test to qualify children for gifted and talented programs.

The Woodcock-Johnson IV ® test, or Woodcock-Johnson Fourth Edition, was recently released as the newest and most recent version of the Woodcock-Johnson test. The Fourth Edition serves to replace the Woodcock-Johnson III, or Third Edition. This older version was used for some time until replaced by this newest version.

Historically, the Woodcock Johnson test is used for a broad range of ages, from young children to elderly individuals. For kids, the test is often used to determine whether they are eligible for entry into a gifted or advanced program. As a result doing well on the test can be important for the individuals educational future.

Skill Assessment

The skills tested on the Woodcock-Johnson Tests of Cognitive Abilities are:

  • Comprehension-Knowledge
  • Long-Term Retrieval
  • Visual-Spatial Thinking
  • Auditory Processing
  • Fluid Reasoning
  • Processing Speed
  • Short-Term Memory
  • Quantitative Knowledge
  • Reading-Writing Ability