Blog home

Bracken test: Design and Standards

Bracken test: Design and Standards

posted by Karen Quinn, The Testing Mom - July 30th, 2012

The Bracken test is a standardized test given to children as young as 2 ½ years old to 2nd graders, given to determine the child’s readiness for school. Test results of such even comprise the bulk of the decision when determining whether a child is eligible enough to be accepted in special programs for gifted children.

The Bracken test is designed with 6 assessment skills included in the exam:

  • Color – identification of the color presented visually
  • Letters – letters should be recognized by the child in their upper or lower case as presented
  • Numbers and Counting – the child should be able to count from 1-99 and be able to identify numbers of single digits form those of double digit numbers
  • Sizes – the size should be amply identified by the child (e.g. tall, wide, short)
  • Comparisons – objects should be matched accordingly based on the characteristics given
  • Shapes – basic shapes should be duly recognized and easily identified by the child

The Bracken test takes almost an hour and a half. However, the Bracken test is mostly administered with no time limit as it depends solely on the child and its ability to finish the exam in his own time. 

Share this article

Tell us about your experiences

Need help? - Contact Support