Blog home

OLSAT test levels

OLSAT test levels

posted by Karen Quinn, The Testing Mom - November 6th, 2011

OLSAT tests are administered nationwide in the US and is one of the primary device to assess a child’s aptitude for a gifted and talented educational program. It is also used with the Stanford 10 Achievement test to gauge school and learning abilities of children from kindergarten, elementary and high school. OLSAT tests are usually taken in groups according to grade level and age group.

 OLSAT tests are divided to seven levels:

  •  Level A is designed for pre-K to kindergarten students. OLSAT tests in this level include: following directions, aural reasoning, arithmetic reasoning and pictorial and figural reasoning.
  • Level B is for grade one students. OLSAT tests in this level include the same cluster items in Level A plus picture analogy.
  • Level C is for grade two students. It is similar with Level A and B OLSAT tests, but it is geared for the age group of 2nd graders.
  • Level D is for grade three students. OLSAT tests in this level feature both verbal and nonverbal items, with the exception of the pictorial reasoning and figural classification. At this level, the Quantitative reasoning test is given.
  • Level E is for grade 4 and 5 students, while Level F is for grades 6 to 8 and the last level is Level G which is for grades 9 to 12. OLSAT tests in this level are similar with Level D which includes all the clustered items for verbal and nonverbal tests except for pictorial reasoning and figural classification.


Share this article

Tell us about your experiences

One Response

My daughter is 5 grade student. I want to buy olsat gifted books for her, where i can buy, do you have a idea pls tell me thank you.I lived in brooklyn, ny 11226.

Need help? - Contact Support