Blog home

Understanding Common Core Requirements by State

Understanding Common Core Requirements by State

posted by Karen Quinn, The Testing Mom - February 9th, 2015

practicing for common core

If your child is facing an upcoming ELA Common Core test, you may be wondering what the test is and what subjects are involved. You’re not alone – due to the relative newness of the test itself, many parents across the country feel as though they’re scrambling to keep up and to help prepare their children. Here, we’ll review the test itself as well as its goals and Common Core requirements by state.


What is the Common Core?

The Common Core is a term which has been adopted to describe the subjects tested as a result of the State Standards Initiative. This initiative has been created through a large collaboration involving the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), the National Governors Association (NGA) and many educators and academic professionals across the country. Its goals are simple – ensure that each student is properly absorbing and learning the curriculum at each grade level, thereby creating generations of high school seniors who are fully prepared for life after graduation.

Common Core subjects include English, math, science, social studies and history. These subjects were chosen because they make up the core of a student’s academic career, and a lack of knowledge in these subjects can set a student up for failure. Of these, the highest focus is placed on English.


How Are States Involved?

You can view a map detailing state participation at States can choose to reject or accept each portion of the Common Core. To date, most have accepted the original test battery, although at least one (Minnesota) has rejected the math portion. States also have the option to add subjects to the battery which they find to be important.

Share this article

Tell us about your experiences

Need help? - Contact Support